Fabrication Custom fabrication ideas and concepts ranging from body kits, interior work, driveline tech, and much more.

Doing some free Solidworks renderings :)

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2013, 10:59 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: "Nina" 1988 Trans Am GTA
Engine: TPI 305 V8
Transmission: T-5
Doing some free Solidworks renderings :)

So I got Solidworks 2012 a few days ago and have been playing around with it non-stop, it's too cool! If you have the means, I highly recommend picking it up!

I made a couple objects, modified shift plate, custom T56 shift ****, 2-part wheel face (work-in-progress) but I'm really not sure what else to make now! I'm still pretty new to it, but I figure if anyone wants some fairly basic kind of custom parts modeled (emblems, shift *****, etc.) let me know and I'll try my best to design it for ya!

-Jack

Name:  solidworksparts_zps6d634305.jpg
Views: 89
Size:  66.3 KB
Old 01-20-2013, 03:16 PM

Re: Doing some free Solidworks renderings :)

I'm actually at SolidWorks World 2013 in Orlando right now :-)

I'm a Mechanical Design Engineer for a living, and SolidWorks is my preferred platform. I have never actually used it to design parts for my car, ironically....
Old 01-20-2013, 04:58 PM

how about a k member? a arms... trans mount. maybe even the t56 or 4L60,6l80 trans
Old 01-21-2013, 08:13 AM
Supreme Member
TGO - 10 Year Member

Received 218 Likes on 164 Posts
Car: 1989 Trans Am GTA
Engine: LT1, AFR 195cc, 231/239 LE cam.
Transmission: M28 T56
Axle/Gears: 3.23 10bolt waiting to explode.

Originally Posted by eliofall
how about a k member? a arms... trans mount. maybe even the t56 or 4L60,6l80 trans
Thats a little beyond just learning. The A-arms and K-member are something you want a pro designing.
Old 01-21-2013, 11:37 AM

Originally Posted by Thirdgen89GTA
Thats a little beyond just learning. The A-arms and K-member are something you want a pro designing.