Fabrication Custom fabrication ideas and concepts ranging from body kits, interior work, driveline tech, and much more.

Totally overkill fab project - floors, firewall, cage... Ideas/suggestions?

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2008, 06:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1999 subaru forester GT (urgh)
Engine: ej20 turbo
Transmission: 5speed
Axle/Gears: 4.11:1 awd
Totally overkill fab project - floors, firewall, cage... Ideas/suggestions?

Ok, i am an apprentice Mobile Plant Mechanic with 2 or so years to go with my training. So, because i am not in the financial situation yet to do the LS1 w/power adder & 9" rear thing (i.e. expensive draintrain mods) i will start on the sheetmetal and fab side of things. The car will not be street registered for a couple of years until the metal work is finished.

I have big plans and lofty goals so i'll start with outlining my plans so far:

- Jegster or similar 12 point cage w/back seats removed.
- mini tub the rear about 2-3inchs
- new flat firewall w/ac delete
- extensive floor pan mods (especially to driver side, RHS that is)
- homemade SFC's linked to cage

As my car is RHD and is virtually gutted under the dash, the cage should present minimal probs. I plan on getting a self-contained street rod heater for basic heat/demist. So the firewall should be easier too.

Because the car is RHD, the driver side floor is where that cat hump is. PITA. So i am planning to cut out and perhaps raise the lower section of the floor to where the cat hump is so its flat, hopefully creating more leg room in the process. Or lower the floor hump and reroute the exhaust?

basically, its a long term project, i plan on keeping this thread alive with pics and stuff. I am a novice mig welder, but practice makes perfect. Considering buying/making a sheetmetal bender to make things easier. Have a decent array of tools at my disposal (from home and work) and have a car lift at home in the workshop.

My first question is;