Fabrication Custom fabrication ideas and concepts ranging from body kits, interior work, driveline tech, and much more.

Tig vs. Mig.... ?

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2004, 12:52 PM
Supreme Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 91' Camaro
Engine: 383 ci
Transmission: T-56
Axle/Gears: 9 bolt / 3:70
Tig vs. Mig.... ?

I have never used a TIG welder before, so I am very unfamiliar with them. I do have access to one and someone that will teach me to use it. Do they create more or less heat than a MIG? I am wanting to have new brackets welded to my axle, but am concerned how much heat may go into it possibly warping the rear slightly...Is this the case? Thanks for any help.

Jason
Old 11-17-2004, 05:38 PM
Supreme Member

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Car: 1985 IROC-Z
Engine: Magnacharged LS1
Transmission: T56
Axle/Gears: Ford 9" 4:11's
Are you talking about relocation brackets? I wouldn't worry too much about warping the axle tubes. You could tig weld them...it would look much neater, but mig welding them will work fine.
Old 11-17-2004, 09:14 PM
Supreme Member

Car: 05' GTO
Engine: 6.0L
Transmission: A4
mig will be the best ifthe axel is still in the car. if its out and u want nice welds then use the tig and plus theres no sparks.
Old 11-17-2004, 09:50 PM
Supreme Member

Car: 91' Camaro
Engine: 383 ci
Transmission: T-56
Axle/Gears: 9 bolt / 3:70
Originally posted by 406TPI
Are you talking about relocation brackets? I wouldn't worry too much about warping the axle tubes. You could tig weld them...it would look much neater, but mig welding them will work fine.
This is actually another rear for another vehicle I am talking about. I welded my relocation brackets with a MIG on my Camaro, but this axle is going in my Yukon, so it needs to be strong, not that MIG is not, but I want it to be the best possible.

Jason

Last edited by RU-QWIK; 11-17-2004 at 10:37 PM.
Old 11-18-2004, 04:38 AM
ede
TGO Supporter

Received 1 Like on 1 Post