Exhaust Post your questions and suggestions about stock or aftermarket exhaust setups. Third Gen exhaust sound files and videos!

Edelbrock TES

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2002, 02:33 AM
Supreme Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: White KSwisses
Engine: 5.3L Gen III
Edelbrock TES

I wanna get some Edelbrock headers and i was wondering:

a) If they are chrome plated, do i have to worry about the heat and do i have to get them treated like i would if they were just painted black?
b) how much would be a fair amount to pay someone to install them
c) How hard would it be to install them myself, keeping in mind i am not really experienced in doing anything major to cars
Old 08-20-2002, 08:39 AM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 99 Formula
Engine: LS1
Transmission: T56
Axle/Gears: 342
Yes, they do sell a pair that is chrome, after a while they will discolor a little. It might be a good idea just to hose them down with some cleaner every now and then, not sure.

A shop will charge out the @ss for them, and honestly most exhaust shops are too lazy for that stuff.

Took my brother and I 6 hrs to install mine in the driveway. But the AC was already out,and we didn't hook the emissions stuff back up.
Old 08-20-2002, 02:46 PM
Supreme Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Car: 88 Camaro SC
Engine: SFI'd 350
Transmission: TKO 500
Axle/Gears: 9-bolt w/ 3.23's
the hardest part will probably be getting the old log headers off. All those years of rust will make things hard to remove. Just remember to soak everyhting for a while with a good penitrant before you tackle all the bolts that hold the manifolds on. The headers themselves arent too bad to get on. Theyll still take some time but its not too bad.
Old 08-20-2002, 06:21 PM

cali92rs, i see that you live in CA so let me do you a favor