Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

Crossfire engine?

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2024, 08:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Crossfire engine?

First off, hello to all and thanks for allowing me in. I'm a master mechanic from Indiana that just purchased half of an 87 Monte Carlo SS at a storage auction. First auction ever. Haha. Turns out to be a time capsule that's been stored away for decades and was someone's hot rod back in the day. Tons of go fast goodies and old school racer touches that was mid-frame off restoration when the fella just walked away or possibly passed away unfortunately. I didn't get a body (basically everything else) but for the last week I've been researching every sweet 80' & 90's part and I've learned a lot about the him that way and he was a true car guy. The chassis is stripped but freshly sandblasted and coated so is the 7.5 lsd rear end. The body probably went to the body shop and is lost to the ages. Sorry, had to get all that out there to help explain why I'm trying to figure out the engine I got with this deal and the very limited info I'm working with here. Engine is super clean inside and out, looks like it had just been built. The numbers come back as an 83 crossfire 305 for a Z/28 or a T/A or the other possibility is an 83 tbi. I think it was born on July 8th, and at the Doraville plant. What I can't decode is the partial Vin number, I've tried all the charts I can find, it should tell me what it came it right? It's been 15+ years since I've decoded a sbc so I could be doing it completely wrong. I don't think the 416 heads help identify it because they could have been off the original Monte engine. I'm certain this guy didn't just toss in a random junkyard 305 tbi after spending a week learning about him so I need to know everything I have