Engine Swap Everything about swapping an engine into your Third Gen.....be it V6, V8, LTX/LSX, crate engine, etc. Pictures, questions, answers, and work logs.

305/350 swap:Second cam

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2009, 04:22 PM
RiV

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
305/350 swap:Second cam

Hi, first time posting here but have knocked around here over the years. I'm a novice engine builder and had a buddy help me with the current engine build.

The project: 1988 Pontiac Formula which has been converted into a Knight Rider replica car (82-84 body parts)

I have swapped the 305 tpi engine with a late 60's 350 block, and for the most part have a completed tpi swap over.

Parts installed:
a mild street 268 cam -comp cams 12-56-04 flat tapet

New crank

New bearings/seals: crank bearings, cam bearings and all seals engine related

new set of heads with the biggest valves? 2.02/1.60 can't remember cfm 58-64cc/150-160?( I do know they weren't the best flowing heads)the heads came with performance roller rockers 1.5 ratio(fat red iodized type) and strenghtend rods, hydralic lifters(none roller type)

Performance chip/module to replace stock chip( that is supposed to deliver 300+hp with above combo.

Various other purchased 350 sensors for the swap: Knock sensor, Electronic Spark Control module are the only ones I'm sure I replaced.