Electronics Need help wiring something up? Thinking of adding an electrical component to your car? Need help troubleshooting that wiring glitch?

How Do i Wire A Fan Switch Into The Car Interior

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2006, 06:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 88 Camaro Sport Coupe
Engine: 305 TBI
How Do i Wire A Fan Switch Into The Car Interior

My overheating problems are cause because my fan is jerryriggiged to only run when you physically plug it into the battery, sice it is embarrassing opening up my hood in the parking lot(people think its worse than it looks) so i would like to pysically turn it on and off from inside the cockpit.

Thanks Alot,

BTW im a poor High School Student so a really cheap switch would be goood, i dont want to rewire it so it automaticly goes on i want to be able to turn it on and off.

Thanks, Neil
Old 11-15-2006, 07:30 PM

Car: 90 R/S camaro 3.1L stock,
Just had to do this to my 90 this week.Plan fix it right soon as have down time from work.What I did was run a wire from the fan relay in my case it was at the back of the engine compartment right in the left corner.The thick blk & red wire goes to fan motor,thick red wire is power to red&blk when relay is activated,the thin brn or tan wire is volts in for relay and the grn/wht wire is to the PCM.There is aparently sumthin wrong with my PCM so I just spliced/tapped the grn/wht wire ran the tap into the interior to a simple toggle switch , out the other side of the switch to ground under the dash.When i flip the switch it trips relay and turns on the fan.even used a nice chromed mini switch and mounted it in the dash.The current used to trip the relay is negligable compares to the draw of the motor thats why i didn HOT WIRE the fan directly.Have seen cars burn from too much power thru wrong rated toggles b4.

Also check out these posts.....

https://www.thirdgen.org/forums/cool...stall-fan.html

https://www.thirdgen.org/electric_co...pec_mod_single