DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

AXCN for 350 TPI w/ aluminum heads?

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2011, 05:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 91 Formula
Engine: 305 TPI
Transmission: T-5
Axle/Gears: stock
AXCN for 350 TPI w/ aluminum heads?

Hello all,

I'm totally new to the PROM burning thing, and I have been reading the stickies and such. I have the Moates equipment (G1 adapter, BURN1 programmer, eeprom) and I'm about to swap out my 305 TPI for a 355 TPI.

Where do I start?! I know the AUJP .bin is the stock binary for speed density 350 autos, but I'm having a hard time finding info on switching to a manual set up (I have a T5). The consensus I'm getting is that you should start with a .bin designed for a manual transmission. Which should I select? I want to start up the car and break in the engine safely. I don't have any experience so I can't fine tune the chip beforehand. Is the corvette AXCN an option?

The car will retain TPI, as mentioned, and has a mild SLP cam (lifts in the .485 range) with Edelbrock Performer 60 cc aluminum heads. Pistons are dished 10 cc, and I'm told my compression should be near stock. I mention this since I realize the corvette .bin is made for aluminum heads.

I really need a starting point. I don't mind changing a few things, as I understand the AXCN will have some sensor data for sensors that a 91 Firebird won't have.

Please help!
Old 09-30-2011, 08:04 AM

Received 225 Likes on 211 Posts
Car: check
Engine: check
Transmission: check
Re: AXCN for 350 TPI w/ aluminum heads?

AXCN is a decent choice to start off with. Your engine won't have the oil temperature sensor. Can disable the SES for it via the malfunction flags. Can also max out the timer for it. IIRC, stock setting is 30 minutes before the test is run.

Not sure if it affects anything else.