DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

Is My Cam Too Small Can't Tune Out Knock Counts EBL

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2011, 05:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 92 k2500, 05 GTO, 88 T/A
Engine: 383 TBI , 6.0, 5.7 TBI
Transmission: 700R4 , 4L65E, 700r4
Is My Cam Too Small Can't Tune Out Knock Counts EBL

So I've been trying everything I can possibly think of to get my knock counts tuned out. I'm using EBL and the only way to get them to go down is to lower timing between 2k-3k then no power. KC mostly occurs in that range. This is my first project and it's a 383, 454 TBI on a Performer RPM, 9.5 SCR, 7.9DCR Aluminum Etec heads. I've had no problem with WOT timing at 26 degrees at 3200+rpm. However this tip in and load KC at lower rpms I simply can't get rid of without losing power. It happens on a quick pedal depress howeveer if I press the pedal slowly I can avoid the kc. Need help here, running OL at 12.9 to 1 target WB should be plenty of fuel. I keep going back to the cam being the culprit to tight for the build, I'm hoping to get this tuned out. Has anyone had problems with too small a cam and the problems like me? The cam is a comp 260XFI 59degree IVT. This is a brand new motor 2000 miles so far. Other though is performer rpm manifold is too large not enough velocity and fuel is dropping out of suspension. I would really hate to have to give up and change the cam and fuel injection system.
Old 07-24-2011, 10:09 AM

Re: Is My Cam Too Small Can't Tune Out Knock Counts EBL

Flat, or roller?
Flat: "Good low end & mid-range for TPI 350 with aftermarket chip and upgraded exhaust."
Roller: "Superb low end and mid-range for 350 tuned port injections."
If this is what you want in your 383, then try premium pump gas, AND several different brands of octane booster. One brand per tankful, run it virtually empty before switching brands.