DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

PID stuff - O2 and IAC (and whatever else may apply)

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2011, 05:50 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 1985 IROC-Z28
Engine: LB9
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 3.73
PID stuff - O2 and IAC (and whatever else may apply)

an intermittent oscillating idle brought this up, so i started researching on tuning PID controls, eventually came across this page:

http://www.online-courses.vissim.us/...controlmap.htm

interesting little tips that come up when you mouse over, a very current log shows this:

PID stuff - O2 and IAC (and whatever else may apply)-et48w.png

now, i used to have a random roll in the idle, maybe a 100 RPM in each direction, almost always happened given enough time, so i started playing with idle spark, ended up increasing it quite a bit in the idle SA modifiers (my modified A1 mask, BTW).

now, in very random occasions, when traveling between 0 and 10MPH with no throttle or brakes applied, the car will just start surging and generally won't quit until i either give it throttle or come to a complete stop. when at full stop, the roll goes away within a second and i have a pretty smooth and consistent ~700RPM(when hot anyways) idle.

so, i figure the IAC PIDs need some adjustment for whatever reason, since the IAC itself is nice and clean and otherwise responds nicely.

graph above shows IAC counts in hot pink(don't ask), desired idle speed in blue, and RPM in green. the oscillation seems to be more or less centered around desired speed, maybe shifted a little towards the low side, but not by much. it has gotten to the point of swinging so badly to stall, but it's even more rare.

based on those incredibly helpful tool tips, i'm thinking gain(integral portion, i think?) needs to be reduced?