DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

MAF questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2009, 10:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 89 GTA
Engine: 350
Transmission: 700r4
MAF questions

I have a stock MAF, on a 383, tpis mini ram, trick flow 195cc/2.02/1.60, zz9x, flat top 10:1, 30lbs inj. I'm new to tune and will not carb! When I get better at tuning, I'll modify the MAF. My questions are these...

Why do I change the MAF table values to tune when my MAF is the same as stock? Shouldn't I be changing other stuff instead?

I bought the MAF at advance when I put the motor together, I just told them to give me a stock one for an 89 GTA. It still has the screen.
Old 03-24-2009, 04:44 AM

Car: 1987 Monte Carlo SS
Engine: HSR 383 AFR180/268XFI EBL
Transmission: 200-4R, Edge 2800 L/U
Axle/Gears: 7.5/3.73/PowerTrax No-Slip
Re: MAF questions

To make more power, you need more fuel (along with more air). Adjusting the MAF tables/scalars will tell the ECM you need more fuel for a given voltage reading.
Old 03-24-2009, 08:06 PM

um, (scratches head)... but I'm running pig rich on a stock chip...
Old 03-24-2009, 08:46 PM

If you're rich across the board then start by lowering the MAF scalars by the same percentage that your BLMs are off of 128. Then fine tune from there in the MAF tables.

Just doing this has gotten my tune really close at cruise. My idle still needs more fuel, and AE, along with PE, still need a lot of work.
Old 03-25-2009, 02:52 AM
Supreme Member
TGO - 10 Year Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 92 Form, 91 Z28, 89 GTA, 86 Z28
Engine: BP383 vortech, BP383, 5.7 TPI, LG4
Transmission: 4L60e, 700R4, 700R4..
Axle/Gears: 3.27, 2.73

First, change the injector flowrate constants to 30lb/hr. Then check if rich again.
Old 03-25-2009, 04:35 AM

Originally Posted by RednGold86Z
First, change the injector flowrate constants to 30lb/hr. Then check if rich again.