DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

Too much info now I am cornfused, can someone point me in the right direction?

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2008, 08:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Too much info now I am cornfused, can someone point me in the right direction?

Hi a cornfused newbie here. Let me give you the background info. I have a 86 Jeep CJ-7. It originally came with a 4.2 and a computer controlled carburetor.

I purchased this a year ago the smog stuff had been butchered badly. I live in California so the easiest solution was to install a Howell Engine Developments TBI kit which is C.A.R.B approved. This is based on the 87-91 C/K 4.3 truck engine. It has the 1227747 ECM and correct me if I am wrong but it has 55 lbs/hr injectors. So I installed this on the Jeep and cut out two 5 gallon buckets worth of wiring. So now I am SMOG legal.

Well the 4.2 died so I decided that i want a bit more preformance so I went with a Golen 4.6 long block. A 4.6 is made when you take a 4.2 crank and rods and install them into a 4.0 block. The 4.0 head is a much better head than the 4.2 so it breathes much better. Golen also puts in a Comp Cams camshaft that is more agressive than stock. Duration intake 210 @.050 exh 218@.050 Lift intake .477 exh .493 lobe speration 11 deg.

I talked to Howell and had them burn me a new chip, six versions later its still not right. I am not knocking Howell but the long distance chip burning isnt working. So I started reading up on prom tuning here and at Binder. I have down loaded and printed out about a 150 pages of info.

I then ordered the Moates APU1 Auto Prom package the ZIF socket some 27SF512 chips (the whole enchilda)

I got a spare 1227747 ECM and soldered it all up a chip with the 747.bin and I am good to go.

I look at TunerPro RT and think to myself were do I start?