DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

Rich on idle and lean on cruising

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2008, 05:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 89 GTA
Engine: L98 350
Transmission: Swapped to a T-5
Axle/Gears: 3.27
Rich on idle and lean on cruising

I'm sure this is an easy problem for most of you to fix but I'm new to tuning so its hard for me to figure out. my car is an 89 GTA 5.7 with a ZZ4 cam. I'm using Turnerpro RT for data logging and bin editing. Heres the problem, I think when the car goes to idle in closed loop I'm getting a false lean because it smells like gas but I still get high BLM's, on start up and in open loop my blm's are at 128 but smells like gas...

When cruising around I still have high BLM's so I changed the injector constant to 19.7 and that really richened up the cruising part but it didn't help the idling part.

So I'm thinking I need to get less gas at idle but more at higher rpm's and I think the way to do that is with the MAF tables. Would it be ok to leave the lower constant and just change the MAF tables for the idle? Would I have to increase grams or decrees them in the MAF table? does the MAF table change the injector pulse width? Under volts in the MAF table is that how many volts the ecm is reading from the MAF?
Old 07-10-2008, 02:31 PM

Car: 89 GTA
Engine: L98 350
Transmission: Swapped to a T-5
Axle/Gears: 3.27
Re: Rich on idle and lean on cruising

I just found something interesting when I was going for a drive yesterday and data logging about halfway in my cruise I started getting knock counts at a certain RPM I think it was about 2100 RPM and whenever the knocks happened I got some knock retard but once the knocks stopped the retard went back to 0. So I drove it home and in the carport I revved it to 2500 a few times and every time I did that it got some knock counts added and knock retard.