DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

350 vs 305 MAF scalar observations

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2008, 12:15 PM
Supreme Member

Received 37 Likes on 29 Posts
Car: 86 IROC
Engine: 383
Transmission: TKO 600
Axle/Gears: 3.54 Dana 44 IRS
350 vs 305 MAF scalar observations

I'm new to tuning, and I've been digging for information. I've read and learned quite a bit so far and I'm reasonably comfortable tuning on my car and I have to say i've got it about 85% where I want it.

In my searches I've seen all kinds of debate about how to properly tune a MAF car, here is a brief breakdown of the tuning approaches.
1. leave MAF table and Scalars alone. Tune with injector constant and battery voltage vs pulsewidth. This is the least invasive way to tune that wont mess up the LV8 calculations. this is Grumpy's suggestion.
2. tune with the MAF tables but leave the scalars alone. adjust the injector constant to what it should be.
3. MAF tables and Scalars are free game as long as you have a wideband and know what you are doing.

I've taken step 3 thus far and I'm having pretty good luck. I met up with doc and he helped me get my initial grasp on these things, his help has been much appreciated.

I wanted to see how the factory dealt with this issue so I decided to compare the Corvette L98 .bin to the LB9 Camaro .bin. The MAFs are the same, but each engine has different injectors so I thought this would be a good representation of what many of us have done with increased displacement and larger injectors.

In comparing the APYP.bin and the ANYX.bin I found that the factory seems to have modified the MAF tables AND Scalars. I need to do more studying to see what % the factory moved the scalars up vs the added 45cid, but I must also remember the different injector sizes.