DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

eprom swap between near identical ECM's

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2000, 12:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
eprom swap between near identical ECM's

Hi,
I am a newbie/lurker who needs your wisdom concerning an eprom swap.

I want to swap the eprom from a 90 grand prix 3.1 VIN V 1227727 ECM into a 92 Grand Prix 3.1 VIN T 1227727 ECM. Do you have to swap the calpaks or memcals or whatever in addition to the eprom? Or is this just a direct chip swap? I would also like it to work with my OBD-I scanner for further tuning purposes.
I have not done this sort of thing before, so I am flying blind right now. If I do need addition parts to do this, would anyone know the part numbers for the 90 grand prix 3.1 vin V 1227727 ?

Thanks in advance for your time, as it will be appreciated immensely!

Old 12-28-2000, 12:54 PM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: An Ol Buick
Engine: Vsick
Transmission: Janis Tranny Yank Converter
Originally posted by mta227:
Hi,
I am a newbie/lurker who needs your wisdom concerning an eprom swap. I want to swap the eprom from a 90 grand prix 3.1 VIN V 1227727 ECM into a 92 Grand Prix 3.1 VIN T 1227727 ECM. Do you have to swap the calpaks or memcals or whatever in addition to the eprom? Or is this just a direct chip swap? I would also like it to work with my OBD-I scanner for further tuning purposes.
I have not done this sort of thing before, so I am flying blind right now. If I do need addition parts to do this, would anyone know the part numbers for the 90 grand prix 3.1 vin V 1227727 ?
Thanks in advance for your time, as it will be appreciated immensely!
The 727 uses a memcal, meaning the eprom, calpak, and esc filter are all together.