DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

EPROM ID - After market?

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2005, 02:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
EPROM ID - After market?

I'm a complete newb to custom PROMs and I've been reading the FAQ as well as the (seemingly) relevant posts. In preparation for ordering a "Pocket Programmer", I also wanted to order some EEPROM chips to get started with. In order to make sure I got the "right" chips, I pulled out my 7747 ECM and popped the cover. Problem is, I can't really tell much about it. Rather than a bare chip, there is a black frame/holder around it, and the frame obscures most all the numbers. It also appears that the chip is glued into the frame, so (as far as I can tell) I can't just slide the frame off the chip to read the numbers. I'm guessing this is some after market "high performance" EPROM chip. Can anyone confirm?

>>> Chip details:

Plastic chip holder has "RN" embossed on it.

Top of chip:
Silver label - top row of numbers obscured. Second row in larger type is AKAJ. Third row is 1147 also in large type.
Chip surface - most all numbers are obscured. Top row is 014, second starts with 32, 3rd starts with A.

Bottom of chip:
JT8(G)AH22/P

>>> For reference:

This is for an 88 K5 blazer with TBI 350. I just built/installed the engine which is a ZZ4 350 short block, Crane Compu Cam, SR Torquer heads, and 14 psi on the FR. I have a tweaked/bored TB with VRFPR that will be going on once I get started. But for now, I'm already on the lean side, and I figure that the new TB takes it further that way, so I will wait until I start the chip process to install the new FPR and modified TB.

I have (and use) WinALDL and I expect I'll be using TunerPro or TunerCat for the tuning.

>>> So, on to the specific questions: