DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

to PE or not to PE?

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2005, 07:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
to PE or not to PE?

I've done a search on this and it hasn't given me anything right off the bat, and you guys like to post on forums anyways right?

I'm tuning my GTA this weekend starting from a stock vette MAP/6speed bin, gonna do the basic datalogging thing for the low RPM VE table, and do trial and error on the high end and spark tables. I'm wondering if my life would be easier if I just got rid of PE and only worked with values on the high RPM VE table (I'm guessing they would get higher at the top end than normal). If so how do I disable PE. Thanks for the feedback.
Old 09-27-2005, 08:46 AM

Car: 91 camaro 305 tbi
Engine: 305 tbi l03
Transmission: 700r4
well yeah im sure it would be easier but that dosent mean its better....now im a total newb but id say to disable pe you can just zero out all the tables for pe correction and use that space for some thing else more useful to u. but i think its all about what the car wants not whats easier to do from what ive been reading. thats just my 2 cents
John
Old 09-27-2005, 10:43 AM
TGO Supporter

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
my experience when i started tuning was that PE saved me from causing harm to engine. i optimized the underlying VE with multiple datalogs(30?) and then coommanded PE at 12.5/1 and on dyno it ended up 12.0/1. a little unnerving when you have no clue as to what to expect on A/F when car is humming along big time. this is prior to my on board WB.

as a side note i am in OL now for past couple weeks.

i like it.

idle is 13.5/1. the hunting settled down. 0 steps IAC. AE seems better possibly since i am adding AE in the VE tables with no BLM correction occurring. at tip in i fattened up the VE when it runs into higher MAP areas.