DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

Idle won't fall until restart

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2004, 07:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1956 Willys
Engine: 383 TBI
Transmission: SM465
Idle won't fall until restart

Newbie here, so please bare with me.

I'm trying to get my 383 TBI tuned and I'm having some trouble getting the idle to come down. It starts up fine, warms up and then falls down to about 100 RPM shy of my target idle of 700 RPMs. At this point the idle tends to fluctuate slightly (800-900 RPMs). Now, if I shut off the engine and start it back up, it idles very smoothly at 700 RPMs. Any ideas as to what might be causing this?
Old 02-21-2004, 08:31 PM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: An Ol Buick
Engine: Vsick
Transmission: Janis Tranny Yank Converter
Hook up your scanner and closely, real closely look at what your IAC counts are doing.

And make sure you min idle is set right.
Old 02-21-2004, 08:35 PM

Received 225 Likes on 211 Posts
Car: check
Engine: check
Transmission: check
Re: Idle won't fall until restart

Originally posted by brennanw
Newbie here, so please bare with me.

I'm trying to get my 383 TBI tuned and I'm having some trouble getting the idle to come down. It starts up fine, warms up and then falls down to about 100 RPM shy of my target idle of 700 RPMs. At this point the idle tends to fluctuate slightly (800-900 RPMs). Now, if I shut off the engine and start it back up, it idles very smoothly at 700 RPMs. Any ideas as to what might be causing this?
Seems like the idle just floats high? BTDT. However, it can be fixed. Couple of things to check right off.

Does the throttle return back against the idle stop screw? Sometimes after a while the throttle shaft bores get worn, or the throttle cable sticks a little. It can help to increase this term:
Code:
LD5C6:	FCB 3		; 1% TPS FOR CLOSED THROTTLE