DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

Complete novice needs some help.

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2003, 08:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1991 Firebird
Engine: LO3 5.0 TBI
Transmission: TH700R4
Complete novice needs some help.

Hello, i am just about to start performance tuning my 91 firebird 5.0 TBI and have a few questions about chip tuning.

So far I have
An LT4 cam and install kit/springs etc.
A Perfrormer RPM intake.
Hedman Headers and Y Pipe
3 wire bosch universal o2 sensor
I will be decatting the exhaust
An open air filter
I am considereing a VAFPR from TDS.
I purchased a tbichips.com stage 2 chip - before i found this site.

I have downloaded some tuning software (winbin tunerpro etc) and a 1228746 ecu file with a $61 mask ( AXKT1113.bin 89-92 5.0L 8 CYL TBI V8 L03, FED, w/ AUTO) from the gmpcm website. Is this correct so far ?

I have been looking through the previous posts and need a chip burning setup which will allow me to tune the vehicle for these parts then next year I would want to retune for WPtorquer305 heads and a 3.73 diff. so far the Xtronics pocket programmer looks the best but does the software i mentioned earlier burn directly to the pocket programmer ?
I have a laptop so if i got the pocket programmer + a stock of 2732a's would i need anything else ?
I have a rolling road fairly close by so would a real time programmer be better ?

Where can I find a reputable supplier for chips for my ecu eprom 2732a, would the tbichips.com chip overwrite as then i would have two ?

I know i need to start small so the first mods will be increasing the spark advance to make use of Scotland 95RON petrol. I intend to up the spark advance until i see knock then back it off, is this the best way ?