DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

BLM cell basic question....

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2003, 11:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
BLM cell basic question....

I'm still learning about my code (slightly modified AUJP) and I'm trying to get smart enough to tweak the VE tables. So I'm studying the data I have collected and I notice that the BLM cell it is running in seems to have virtually no correlation to the cell edges (rpm and kpa). For instance, at idle generally I'm running around 45 kpa and 700 rpm. The way I read it I should be in the area of cells 8,9,12 or 13. But it actually stays mostly in cell 4 at idle. Is there something im missing??
Old 09-08-2003, 12:29 AM
TGO Supporter

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: '89 GMC Pickup
Engine: 383 SBC Stealth Ram
Transmission: 700R4/VIG 3200
Cell 4, for whatever reason GM decided, is the idle cell. I've read where different types of PROMs use other cells.

There are certain things you can change in the PROM that will cause you to get *stuck* in cell 4. Canister purge setting is one of them and I believe VSS is another, not sure. (Not your problem since you seem to be switching, just not very much.)

I have edited my cell boundrys so I used more BLM cells since I idle at 65kpa and cruise at 50-55kpa. I end up using about 1/2 of them and it makes throttle transitions a little smoother.

By using more cells and letting the ECM learn the BLM values thing are smoother because the INT starts at 128 when the ECM changes cells anyway, then it has to fine tune from there. If a condition changes that would cause the INT to swing from one extreem to another, without BLM learns driveability would suffer until the INT got the fuel back where it thinks it's supposed to be at.