DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

GM ECM or aftermarket?

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2003, 07:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
GM ECM or aftermarket?

How do the GM ECM's compare with thye common aftermarket types in terms of speed, resolution, processing power etc? The common school of thought seems to be that the GM units run rings around almost any aftermarket types but in what way? Why are they better?
Old 03-16-2003, 10:46 PM
Supreme Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Car: too many ...
Well I have limited experience with Gm ECM's, but I think the only aftermarket ECM's that are worth the $$ are the ones for F/I applications. ECM's that can calculate A/F ratio in relation to boost. Speed Pro's F.A.S.T. would be a good example. But even then you can find a cheaper alternative using GM ECM's (749 SyTy ECM for example).

What is basically comes down to is that if you're willing to take the time (blood sweat and tears) to learn the GM stuff then its good enough for anything the weekend warrior can come up with. Those $$ aftermarket ECM's probably are easier to setup and tune, but thats why you're paying the $$.
Old 03-17-2003, 08:20 AM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: An Ol Buick
Engine: Vsick
Transmission: Janis Tranny Yank Converter
Re: GM ECM or aftermarket?

Originally posted by PerthZ28
How do the GM ECM's compare with thye common aftermarket types in terms of speed, resolution, processing power etc? The common school of thought seems to be that the GM units run rings around almost any aftermarket types but in what way? Why are they better?
An engine operates at EXTREMELY slow speeds, in comparison to processing power. A 3-4 Mhz processor is plenty fast, anything more then that is just for grins.

Using the right ecm gives you more then enough resolution. Remember these are designed to keep the EPA, folks happy.