DIY PROM Do It Yourself PROM chip burning help. No PROM begging. No PROMs for sale. No commercial exchange. Not a referral service.

how to get rid of MAF issues

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2002, 04:16 AM
Supreme Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
how to get rid of MAF issues

hi guys i am new here and i keep reading about maf issues.
i am no suave programmer in fact i just started prom tunning myself and will admit its a steep curve.

in the late 80's GM came up with a brilliant update called the speed density update for all of the MAF cars. its pretty simple hardware wise to do. you only need add a 5 volt refernce to a map sensor and move the input for the maf to the output of the map and add a ground. delete the MAF put it in the garbage whatever makes you happy!! lol. anyways the only other big change was geuss what THE SOFTWARE. yeah they came out with a prom and map kit that does away with the maf.

you best bet to find one of these wonder bread jobs is to walk the boneyards looking for you car until you find one without a MAF. now the only real thing is gonna be modding it with the tunercat becuase i doubt theres a mask id program for it. but who knows.