DFI and ECM Discuss all aspects of DFI (Digital Fuel Injection), ECMs (Electronic Control Module), scanners, and diagnostic equipment. Fine tune your Third Gen computer system for top performance.

esc board..can it be tested??

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2013, 11:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
esc board..can it be tested??

hey guys, i had a big long explanation but i will save you from having to read it. I realize this is a tuning section. I am a lowly shade tree mechanic with a simple question. If its out of line please delete it and accept my apology. Can the ESC board on the memcal be tested by someone who burns chips etc? I have a 1995 suburban that's giving me hell with a code 43.(I know, a truck not a third gen but you guys tune and work on them way more than the guys on those forums) I've ohmed the new and old sensor, both checked about same. Ive got 5 volts at the sensor. I'm getting the code 43 about 15 seconds after startup. Sadly, I have no software for data-logging. I have some scan tool stuff (auto-engineuity) buts its all ob2. Again, I know this isn't the help section of the trouble code forum, or even the right forum to ask it on, but you guys tune a lot on these older systems and I would really appreciate any help.
Matt
Old 09-10-2013, 08:03 AM

Received 226 Likes on 211 Posts
Car: check
Engine: check
Transmission: check
Re: esc board..can it be tested??

Sounds like the wrong knock sensor. They should measure around 3,900 ohms (3.9K ohm). If 100,000 ohms (100K ohm), it is the wrong sensor.

Can also do another test: key-on, engine-off, remove the wire from the knock sensor and measure the voltage between the connector and the engine block.

As you found before it should be 5 volts. Now jumper between the connector and knock sensor and measure the voltage again. It should now be 2.5 volts (+-1 volt). That is the test that is failing and why code 43 is being tossed.

Moving to DFI & ECM...

RBob.
Old 09-10-2013, 10:05 AM