Cooling Discuss all of the aspects of cooling that you can think of! Radiators, transmissions, electric fans, etc.

Want to self recharge my R-12

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2007 | 10:12 PM

Car: 90 Firebird Formula
Engine: LO3
Transmission: T5
Axle/Gears: 3.08 one wheel peel
Want to self recharge my R-12

Alright, I worked all summer at a shop doing tires, oil, ect. One of the things I did during orientation was get MACS certified to handle R-12. Now, in connecticut where I live, they dont sell it to Anyone.

Now I am at college in new hampshire, and I went to pepboys today to see if they sold R-12, and once they looked at my certification, they asked if I wanted a 30lb canister or some 12oz cans. I was like cool, but I dont need any today.

So heres the problem. I have never worked on any AC before at all. I know the techs at work used the machine and a set of hi-lo guages, but I would have no idea what to do with them. I had two different mechanics look at it, and they both took off a cap on one of the fittings, and pressed their finger and a huge cloud of R-12 came out. They both said I had about half of the origional charge. Also if the A/C is on at idle, the compressor cycles on and off very rapidly (every 2-3 seconds) and I havnt felt the vents get cold.

So Im really tight on money now, but winters coming and I want to be able to use the defroster without the compressor going crazy. What would my best option be for real cheap? Assuming I have no major leaks (half the origional charge after 17 years aint too bad i dont think).

Also, which fitting is the high side and which one is the low side? I am guessing that the low side is the one pointing straight up?
Old 08-31-2007 | 01:12 PM

Re: Want to self recharge my R-12

Nobody can help?? At least tell me which one is the low side so I dont explode the can!
Old 08-31-2007 | 01:40 PM

Car: 87 GTA, 88 GTA, 92 TA, 72 RS SS
Engine: 350, 350, 305, 396
Transmission: T56, 700r4, 700r4, T56