Car Audio Car audio related questions and helpful hints for building the best sound system for your car or getting the most out of what you have.

Lightning Audio 10s or 12s? Im new at this!

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2001, 09:03 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 1987 Camaro IROC-Z
Engine: L98
Transmission: 700r4
Axle/Gears: BW 9 Bolt 3:27
Lightning Audio 10s or 12s? Im new at this!

Hey guys, this is my first post on the audio board cuz i havent had much money to spend on my stereo. Ok, my friend works at Best Buy and can get me a 20% employee discount. There are two subs on sale, Rockfords and Lightning Audio. I've heard that lightnings are made by Rockford but sound better. what do you guys think. anyways, I could get two Lightning 12s for $64 or two 10s for $56, both are 500 watt subs. so what should i get 10s or 12s? Also what kind of amp would i need for this kind of power? Lighnting has one for $80 thats 2 channel and delivers 50 watts x 2 @ 4 ohms (I have no clue what that means, somebody wanna clarify?) So im just looking for you guys to shed some light on my situation cuz as you can see i dont know much bout car audio. Thanks alot in advance.
Tom
O yea, i have a Sony Headunit 45 x 4 channel, if that matters.
Old 12-12-2001, 01:43 AM
Supreme Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lighnting has one for $80 thats 2 channel and delivers 50 watts x 2 @ 4 ohms
First off, WELCOME TO 3RDGEN.COM!

Ok,two Lightning 12s for $64 or two 10s for $56? Thats with 20% off, but lemme just say, stick to decent name brands. Ive never seen people talk about Lighning Audio because no one uses them, I used to think it was a best buy house brand.

Get a more powerful amp than 50x2, and stick with rockford fosgate. Its good for the money. 50 watts x 2 is how much power (wattage) is sent to each speaker. an ohm is a amount of resistance, so most speakers are 4 ohms each. I explain it better in my site, but thats roughly what it is .. confusing for newbies.

------------------