Car Audio Car audio related questions and helpful hints for building the best sound system for your car or getting the most out of what you have.

Gel Batteries worth the price?

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2005, 01:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1991 Red Trans Am
Engine: 305 TPI
Transmission: 5 spd manual
Gel Batteries worth the price?

I was thinking about going to a gel battery in my 91 Trans Am. I've heard many things about these types of batteries. My car will probably be sitting during the week and only out on sunny weekends. I have a stereo/amp setup also in the car. Is this type of battery better for this type of situation? Any info will help greatly!!!
Old 02-12-2005, 02:15 PM
Supreme Member

Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts
Car: 90 Formula
Engine: 305
Transmission: 700R4
Axle/Gears: 9 bolt/3.27
If you are referring to the Optima batteries I say they are worth every penny. I've been using the same yellow top for over 7 years without failure. My car also sits for long periods and starts every time.
Old 02-16-2005, 08:36 PM

What about yellow top vs red top? I will have a small system and just around town driving.... I was thinking red top.
Old 02-17-2005, 09:20 AM

Car: I
Engine: Taunt
Transmission: Mustangs
Originally posted by Mongoose
If you are referring to the Optima batteries I say they are worth every penny. I've been using the same yellow top for over 7 years without failure. My car also sits for long periods and starts every time.
Same for my camaro, but I'm using a diehard. I don't see the point to these optimas. When replacing my battery in my daily driver (Buick) I asked the guy about them and he said there worth the money because when they blow up in your engine compartment they don't make as big of a mess. Uh yeah...ok? Not much of salesman I guess. I ended up buying a diehard gold with more cca's that was half the cost. They look cool, I guess that's a plus.
Old 02-17-2005, 12:53 PM
Supreme Member

Car: 2000 Trans Am WS6 (Black)