Car Audio Car audio related questions and helpful hints for building the best sound system for your car or getting the most out of what you have.

stupid question about wiring power

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2002, 07:28 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
stupid question about wiring power

I was wondering, how would I get the power wire from the battery to the amp? How exactly do I go from the out side to the inside? Any holes existant that I can manuver my hand and a wire through? I have never done this before and would like some advice... so please help a fellow 3rd genner out.

Also, I was thinking about using some 4 guage wire, nice and heavy duty, what do you think?

And one last question, about how much RCA cable will I need?

Thanks.
Old 04-18-2002, 09:32 AM

in wy car we made a hole in the fire wall and used 0 gauge wire real heavy duty stuff as for the length of rca cables i guess it would depend on where your going to mount your amp. when you install your power wire try to put your fuse within 18 inches of the battery for better protection.
Old 04-18-2002, 11:52 AM

Fuse no further than 12" and preferably with in 6", If memory serves I used to pull carpet back in passanger side foot area and drill hole where fire wall starts to angle up, check to make sure there is nothing back there by looking under car and inside enginge compartment, don't forget to use a grommit amd maybe silicone since it is going to be low.
Old 04-18-2002, 01:09 PM

Hey thanks, I was looking at the firewall and wondering where shall I drill if I should drill. I will be probably drilling at the beginning of the fire wall then. Anyone have any pictures, help me out a little bit?
thanks
Old 04-18-2002, 02:53 PM

NO DRILL

Originally posted by mrzud
Hey thanks, I was looking at the firewall and wondering where shall I drill if I should drill. I will be probably drilling at the beginning of the fire wall then. Anyone have any pictures, help me out a little bit?
thanks