Brakes Looking to upgrade or get the most out of what you have stock? All brake discussions go here!

Piece ID. Fell off when I removed the drum.

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2016, 07:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 86 Camaro
Engine: 305
Piece ID. Fell off when I removed the drum.

I was hearing some grinding from my rear right wheel and thought it was the pads. When I pulled the drum this fell off and I have no idea what it is or where it is supposed to go. The second pic shows my setup and I'm holding a spring that did not seem to be attached to anything. This is my first time dealing with drum brakes. Any help would be appreciated.

Old 02-21-2016, 07:53 PM
Supreme Member
TGO - 10 Year Member

Received 1,862 Likes on 1,418 Posts
Car: Yes
Engine: Usually
Transmission: Sometimes
Axle/Gears: Behind me somewhere
Re: Piece ID. Fell off when I removed the drum.

That used to be the parking brake link.

It's destroyed now though; you need a new one. (or at least, an other one)

The spring goes (went) on one end of it.

All of that stuff used to be across the top of the assy, kinda behind the axle flange and below the slave cyl. It went between the rear (left, in that pic, which is of the right rear brake I hope) shoe and the parking brake link that's not visible in the pic because the axle flange is in the way.

Also looks like the entire self-adjuster assy is missing. Should go across the bottom of the pic between the shoes, and that little L-shaped thing should go against it. Looks kinda like a star wheel and a threaded rod and another piece. Might wanna look at the left side of your car and see if it's there on that side, or if the PO sodomized that side too.