Brakes Looking to upgrade or get the most out of what you have stock? All brake discussions go here!

Brake Job Gone Awry

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2007, 03:35 PM
Supreme Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1995 Formula; 1976 Trans Am
Engine: LT1; None
Transmission: T56; None
Brake Job Gone Awry

Yeah...so although I like this hobby, I am not very good at it, and usually have to learn how to do things by first failing at them. Like a rear brake job on my PBR brakes.

All I am trying to do is replace the rotors and pads, since they are worn. After way too much time and frustration, I am giving up until I get some e-help. No matter what I do, I can't get the pads to slip over the rotor...there just isn't enough clearance.

I have opened the bleeder screw and used a C-clamp to compress the piston as far as it will go.

I have a service manual, but it just isn't helping me overcome this.

There are two ways that I can see doing this. Here is the first one, that seems to be what the manual calls for:

The pads are installed in their position in the bracket, at which point you swing the empty caliper assembly into position over them. Doesn't work, too tight.

Here is the other option I can see:

Pads are installed in the caliper, and then swung up into position over the rotor and into the bracket. Hasn't worked, too tight. You can see in the pad facing you that it is getting gouged by the process.

Trying to force them into position has resulted in the metal backing plate for one of the pads to be loosened...obviously a sign that something is wrong:

So, not only do I feel like an incompetent, but I have to take the bus to work until I can get this fixed.

I'd greatly appreciate any help that you can offer.

Dave
Old 11-11-2007, 05:06 PM
Supreme Member

Car: 91 RS
Engine: 350 TBI
Transmission: WC T5
Axle/Gears: 3.42 Posi
Re: Brake Job Gone Awry

You sure you got the right parts?
Old 11-11-2007, 07:02 PM
Supreme Member

Received 27 Likes on 23 Posts