Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

84 Trans-Am ground effects removal?

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2011, 07:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1984 Pontiac Trans-Am
Engine: 305
Transmission: 400
84 Trans-Am ground effects removal?

I have looked high and low on here to no avail on finding help with removing the ground effects from my Trans-Am on my own, so I suppose this is my last option: giving in and posting a thread about it. I saw maybe four or five other threads that were either GTA specific, were for sale, or just didn't have what I was looking for. All of the help and information that is posted on this message board is overwhelming, however extremely useful, but I am still at a loss.

I should begin by saying that I'm pretty new to attempting to work on a car on my own, but I am willing. I have a lot of work that I want to do to my car, and it's going to take a lot of time and money, but I still want it.

With that said, I guess I'll get to what I was originally talking about. I would like to remove the ground effects from my 1984 Trans-Am to make the car look as "original" or as "stock" as I can on the exterior.

These are current pictures of the car:

...and these are current pictures of the back right rocker / valance that I have begun working on little by little (I'm such a newbie that I don't even know exactly part what it is !!!)