Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

painting the plastic bumpers/ gfx

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2010, 08:18 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 85 marrow z28, 88 thunderbird 5.0
Engine: 305 4bbl, 302 cobra efi
Transmission: 700r4, aod
Axle/Gears: the crappy one
painting the plastic bumpers/ gfx

I am being told there is a special preperation/ method to painting plastics which will prevent spiderwebbing and peeling down the road. I am a new painter and am learning the basics by spraying por-15 on my camaro and tbird. Just seeing if this is true or if it all paints the same.

Also, my nose has faint spiderwebs in it, it was probably bumped into something before i bought it. And my front lip was "cheese grated" while loading onto a trailer, what will I need to smooth these out/repair before paint?
Old 12-31-2010, 03:55 PM

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Car: White 1987 IROC-Z
Engine: 305 TPI LB9, 215 HP
Transmission: Borg-Warner T5 NWC
Axle/Gears: Borg-Warner 7.75 with 3.27 ratio
Re: painting the plastic bumpers/ gfx

Originally Posted by onesmartidiot
I am being told there is a special preperation/ method to painting plastics which will prevent spiderwebbing and peeling down the road. I am a new painter and am learning the basics by spraying por-15 on my camaro and tbird. Just seeing if this is true or if it all paints the same.

Also, my nose has faint spiderwebs in it, it was probably bumped into something before i bought it. And my front lip was "cheese grated" while loading onto a trailer, what will I need to smooth these out/repair before paint?
Hello onesmartidiot!!

Look into stuff called "flexagent" (sp) it's supposed to let the paint on the plastic have some flexability before it cracks from flexing!!

I don't know how true this is, but that's what I've heard, sounds good!!!

As for your other questions..............I'm not a painter!!

Old 01-01-2011, 07:59 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 91 Z28