Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

what to do with rust (pics)

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2010, 01:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 86' Sport Coupe
Engine: LG4 305
Transmission: 700r4
Axle/Gears: 2.73
what to do with rust (pics)

Hi, I'm new to working on cars and was wondering what you fellow thirdgeners would recommend I should do about my rust.

Should I just start sanding down the areas that are bad, I want to get a new paint job cause mine is all sun faded but I won't be able to do it myself. Do you guys know of any good paint shops?

any info would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails what to do with rust (pics)-0409001216.jpg   what to do with rust (pics)-0409001215.jpg   what to do with rust (pics)-0409001216a.jpg  
Old 04-09-2010, 01:42 PM

Re: what to do with rust (pics)

Here are some more
Attached Thumbnails what to do with rust (pics)-0409001216b.jpg   what to do with rust (pics)-0409001217.jpg  
Old 04-09-2010, 02:24 PM

Car: 1989 camaro rs
Engine: 305

i have been working on my car 2 but mine is grey.

i recommentd u take dat flaky loose paint off with a wire brush..or if u have a wirebrush wheel connnected to a drill or compressor.

---then use a grinder to grind it all away (rust)...well the surface until it is clean...bare metal....(silver)

----then sand around the whole thing.... and prime it...then bondo over to even it out... and prime that and paint. ill show u my progress 4 some ideas.
Old 04-09-2010, 02:35 PM

i have these pictures...heres a picture of a semi-ready ...almost done removing rust spot...as u can see it still has rust by the idea is to grind at it intil it is bare metal. so then can be primed and so forth...ill add some other pix of progress.(just put the rally rims on) =D

any questions or confusion?Name:  DSCN3058.jpg
Views: 44
Size:  56.9 KB?
Name:  DSCN3057.jpg
Views: 43
Size:  69.8 KBName:  DSCN3056.jpg
Views: 42
Size:  104.7 KB