Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

diy powdercoating

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2009, 07:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
diy powdercoating

Yes I searched for this and couldn't find anything. I'm just wondering if anyone does this and what their results are? Apparently all you need is one of these guns and some powder and a household oven, it looks pretty simple that's why I'm asking if anyone has done this. This would be great if it was this simple I think my whole car would be powder coated before long.

http://www.eastwood.com/catalog/prod...n/category/18/
Old 10-13-2009, 08:17 PM
Supreme Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Car: 1988 GTA
Engine: 5.0 TPI
Transmission: T5
Axle/Gears: 9 Bolt, 3.45
Re: diy powdercoating

You need a *spare* oven - it can't be used for food once it's been powdercoated in. I've heard that you can get good results, but I have no personal experience.
Old 10-13-2009, 08:26 PM
Supreme Member

Car: 90RS Conv.
Engine: 383 w/ small shot
Transmission: th400
Axle/Gears: moser 9in

i have the eastwood gun. I absolutly love it, I want to p/c everything. Got poop faced a couple of weekends ago and p/c'd some corona bottles, for poops and giggles.

on a serious note, it does take some practice and a big learning curve to get it right. your final results will always be determined by the prep work.
Old 10-13-2009, 08:49 PM

I just did up by brakes using the Craftsman Powder gun and craftsman powder. Turned out real nice, it would be better if I did not touch the powder before it cured ... doh.

I paid $40 for the gun and like $5 for the powder. I used a cheap old toaster oven. Anything that heats up to 400 degrees will work. But yes please do not use your cooking oven. If you have any questions please let me know. I have learned a lot I can share.
Old 10-13-2009, 09:45 PM
Supreme Member

here is a link to the eastwood forums, for powdercoating