Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

How to paint your car!

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2004, 10:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 87 Formula
Engine: 350 tpi
Transmission: 700r4
Axle/Gears: Stock 9 bolt
How to paint your car!

Well since theres been alot of people asking lately on adive with paint/body work i thought id put together what i know and make a thread to help everyone out a lil

If you can add to this/change/improve anyhitng ive wrote please do so im just learning myslef

But here we go

Body Work
Youll need a good set of body hammers and dollys to do your body work if you have any real dents. These can be purchased for around $20-$80+
1- Bump your dents out- find all the dents that need body work and your goin to need to bump these out. I like to get everything to about 1/16 of an inch from perferct before i apply filler. Doing the actuall bumping will take pratice its all about getting a feel for moving the metal. Pratice ona spare fender if you have one layin
around.
2- Apply your filler- over the areas youve bumped out. Youll want a nice lightweight body filler dont go buy the cheapest filler there is shop around a little to find a good filler it will make your work much easier.
3- Sand your filler- Make sure to use a sanding board larger than the area your sanding. Start with 40 grit paper workin over the area in a X pattern. DO NOT SAND STRAIGHT ACROSS OR UP AND DOWN. after yove got the rough shape with the 40 grit move to 80 grit to cut soem more than finailly 150 grit to finish.

Primer
1- Cover your bare metal- Use a good selfetching primer like etchlock from sherwin willims or some people perffer an epoxy primer like one from the dp line from ppg ex. dp90lf.
2- Primer surfacer- Once you have all the bare metal coverd apply 2-3 coats ofa high build primer surfacer ex. k38 from ppg follow recoat times on label.