Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

more full repain questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2004, 01:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
more full repain questions

Sorry guys, I am really new to this and planning to start work very soon.

These should be easy. I am still trying to figure out how I am actually going to do this thing. I am repainting the entire car from red to black. I know I have to take doors/hatch off to paint door jams and such.

- Should I paint removable parts on or off the car? (doors, hatch, fenders, hood...). Or should I put everything back together and then paint the exterior?

- If I put everything back together, how would the door jam areas (other crevises[sp?]) overlap with new coats when I'll be doing exterior?

- What is a typical timeframe for all of this? If I start removing old paint (not sure about old primer yet) and then do body work and rust repair, how long can the car sit like that?

- After I prime, how long do I have before car has to be painted? Same question for paint to clearcoat? Can the car sit only primed for a long time?

- I am hoping the windshield does not have to come off. Are these hopes reasonable?

I have a 70 pint dehumidifier in the garage with supposedly keeps humidity at constant 55%, so that should help somewhat
Old 08-02-2004, 05:15 PM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: candy blue 85 z28
Engine: 305 tpi LB9
Transmission: 700r4 crazy beefed up one
Axle/Gears: ones with teeth
1.&2 take off all panls hood doors ect, jam em all out with the new color. paint body shell with new color. rehang all your parts and paint the car as one complete unit, use the special tape for jams to prevent overspray, you could paint the parts off the car if your not using metalic pearl or candy paints.

3. i have been working on mine for a good full year, entire project has been 3 years.