Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

why cant I use flux core wire to weld roll cage

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2004, 02:52 PM
Supreme Member

Received 24 Likes on 14 Posts
Engine: 350 TPI
Transmission: A4
Axle/Gears: 3.23
why cant I use flux core wire to weld roll cage

Why cant I use a flux core wire to weld my cage in? Also, my wleder is only 100amps. the direction say to use a 130. will I have a problem using mine or what?
Old 03-06-2004, 03:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 1989 Iroc-Z
Engine: 5.7L TPI
Transmission: 4 Spd Auto
Who says you cant use a flux core wire to weld in the cage???

Im not a pro welder but I dont know why wouldnt be able to use it.

They probably call for 130 amps though so that you can get a good penetration weld.
Old 03-06-2004, 05:18 PM
Supreme Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 92 Z28
Engine: Boosted LSX
Originally posted by DoBeR
They probably call for 130 amps though so that you can get a good penetration weld.
what he said..

If you can mig it I would.. dont slack in the cage dep. esp if you have the power to need a cage.
Old 03-06-2004, 05:45 PM
Supreme Member

Car: 91 Camaro RS
Engine: TBI
Transmission: 700r4
i use flux core on alot of the stuff i use and never had a problem in the strenght dept. They probaly say not to use flux core becasue of the slag it gives off and gives you spatter on the tubes and doesnt look good. AS for the amps i wouldnt run less then they recommend and dont skimp on something like a cage i had a buddy who half-assed one into his truck rolled it over some rocks and ended up with like 60 somethign stitches in the side of his cause one of the top bars snapped. I would post this on the fabrication board or ask at www.hobartwelders.com then go to the weld talk forums
Old 03-06-2004, 05:53 PM
Supreme Member

Received 24 Likes on 14 Posts
Engine: 350 TPI
Transmission: A4
Axle/Gears: 3.23