Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

easiest paint to spray for a beginner

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2004 | 09:13 PM
Supreme Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Car: 1991 Corvette Coupe
Engine: L98
Transmission: 700R4/4L60 same trans different name
easiest paint to spray for a beginner

topic says it all

i have a HVLP gun and would like a type of paint i can spray all the coats in one day

also, besides the gun and compressor, what else will i need

i am roughing up my old paint and spraying over that

what other materials will i need to buy besides the paint and masking tape? like harderners, additives, etc.

i am new at this, so i kinda need this spelled out for me

thanx
Old 01-07-2004 | 09:57 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Car: 3
Engine: inboard
Transmission: underfloor
We all started somewhere! Sounds like you hve decent equipment to work with.

I would say a base coat clear coat system. The thinners, primer etc. are dependent on which brand of paint you buy.

A single stage enamel may be a bit cheaper on the materials, but in my experience you don't get the depth of glass with it as you do with base/clear. But the main thing about base/clear is it is forgiving of mistakes. Get a big run in the clear? Wetsand it out! The stuff is fantastic if you are spraying as I do in a less than ideal environment.

I painted my wife's Le Baron this summer for around $300 in materials, and still have some left over. I have had three professionals tell me that it looks great and doesn't look like a "garage job".

The worst thing that happens is you sand it down and try again!

Eric
Old 01-07-2004 | 10:00 PM
Supreme Member

thanx eric, thats the exact advice i have been looking for

what brand of paint did you use on your wife's car?
Old 01-07-2004 | 10:05 PM