Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

fiberglass console

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2003, 01:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: 83 Camaro
Engine: 350
Transmission: th350
fiberglass console

ok over winter i decided im gonnat ry to make a fiberglass center console...i still am not sure if i am gonna make like a wooden skeleton and cover it or make a styrofoam mold....this is my first time doing anything big with fiberglass....i only used it once before to fix a plastic interior panel....so...give me your opinions on what you think i should do...like how to make cupholders....also any websites would be appreciated too...i did search and found a few sites on general fiberglassing stuff.....just trying to get as much reading up done as possible before the weekend comes
Old 12-17-2003, 09:09 PM

Car: 83 Camaro
Engine: 350
Transmission: th350
comon guys....i just need some ideas...mainly....things to add...and how to do cupholders
Old 12-18-2003, 02:07 PM

Here's an idea- cut a section out of a console from another car and graft them into the new fiberglass section. Look around a junkyard and find some that you like and incorporate them into your design. You may be able to use other elements from other cars too- like a console box, heater controls, ashtrays, etc. It might be easier to do this then do one completely from scratch, but either way, it's gonna take some work to make it look good.

Cool idea-
Old 12-19-2003, 06:42 AM

Car: 85 Trans Am
Engine: 305 Carb
Transmission: 700R4
I have thought about doing this myself, but not sure that I have time right now to do it right. Considering the 4th gen swap instead, just need to find a 6 speed version that is reasonably priced. None of the local yards around here have any.