Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

Welding stuff?

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2003, 03:36 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: '89 TransAm
Engine: 350 5.7L
Transmission: Auto trans
Welding stuff?

I have no knowledge or experience with welding except what see on TV and movies.

What is a Mig welder ?
How does it work?
Is this different than from arc welding ?

How much does a cheap low cost mig welder cost?

Is it easy to learn and do right to weld in sheet metal to fix your car and do basic body work?

I saw an ad for a job to do mig welding on awnings and place "willing to train" - is that a good deal to just learn and get job experience and get paid for it too ?

Isn't welding a smelly dangerous (sorta) job?

Why do ya have to wear dark goggles or mask?
Can the bright lite hurt damage your eyes?

What about welding anywhere near fuel lines or engine or fuel tank? Ain't it mighty dangerous?
How do body shops do it to deal with the fire hazard?

Any good basic books ya know of which explains or answer lots of my questions?
Thanks
Old 06-19-2003, 09:34 AM

Car: 1984 Camaro Z28
Engine: 350 CID
Transmission: Beefed up 700R4
blue ta,
1. a MIG welder is a welder that uses a shielding gas to "shield" the weld and ensure a good weld that isnt corrupt by bad air getting in the weld. MIG stands for METAL INERT GAS.
An electrical current is passed through a wire that goes through the tip of the gun, and when touched to another metal that is grounded by the welder, the metal melts because of the heat created by the electricity.

Im not too sure about arc welding because im in an auto body class and all we cover in welding is MIG and brazing with the torch.

You could find a cheap used welder anywhere from 100-300 bucks, and a new one will probably run ya about 400 bones.