Body General body information and techniques for restoration, repairs, and modifications.

Fix rustholes in wheelwells w/plastic?

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2003, 04:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car: '89 TransAm
Engine: 350 5.7L
Transmission: Auto trans
Fix rustholes in wheelwells w/plastic?

I got a '89 TA 350 with about 110,000 miles been parked
outside for all 14 years in the cold winterland of Boston...

I just noticed water dripping from under R rear wheel well on a warm dry June day in parking lot... my car only.
I look inside my rearhatch, open trunk and in under the spare tire
I got a bunch of rust and a about 3 small size holes/cracks in the
metal (can see the ground/tire below).

Sooo now I know the problem... all the winter salt & rain driving and splashing up from tires into wheelwells have rusted right thru. Really great! Why doesn't GM better protect this area !?

First I'm not good at body work... bondo is not easy stuff to work with.

Will this work (trying to do a quick and cheap cheap fix) (I'm hurting for money with tought times these days).... ???

Scrape and sand and clean away loose rust. The spray all rusty spots with some Rustoleum rust paint (POR-15 is too much $$).
Then MAYBE try to Bondo the larger holes/cracks.

THEN... I thought I could rig up some plastic (using a cut up
empty gallon plastic milk bottles)... using this very flexible plastic
I could use tape and goop/glue OR (should I) try sheet metal screws and screw the pieces of plastic into the good metal .
I would do this on both sides (inside by spare tire and outer under the wheel well).

My thinking... at least this milk-bottle plastic is 100% water proof and salt and water splashing from tires will just run right off and NOT RUST like the crapy sheetmetal that came with car.

I'm trying to duplicate (cheaply and DIY) like the front wheel wells have a protective inner heavyduty plastic housing inside the FRONT wheels.